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T0 ALL LICENSEES

As a licensee of the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services, you are required
to be aware of the responsibilities, procedures, and potential liabilities regarding the
sale and service of alcoholic beverages.

This reference guide has been prepared to help you legally handle alcoholic beverages.
Please learn the information and keep the guide available for later review. This version
of the reference guide is issued in February 2024. Previously issued reference guides
should be discarded as they may contain outdated information.

Our website (www.abs.utah.gov) has information about the alcohol laws and rules with
direct links to the complete code and administrative rules and information about stores
and agencies, products and prices, server training, and other interesting links. The
website is regularly updated. Please review the website for information and services as
they are developed.

It is our responsibility and desire to be of service and assistance. If you have questions
after consulting the reference guide, please call 801-977-6800, write or e-mail the DABS
Licensing & Compliance Division at DABScompliance@utah.gov.

Effective date February 2024
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TAVERN LICENSE

Utah Code Title 32B, Chapter 6, Part 7, The On-Premise Tavern License allows the
storage, sale, service, and consumption of beer.

Tavern licenses run from March 1% to the last day of February. License fees are not prorated,
so full fees will be due even if a new license was issued at any time during the previous year.
To apply for a tavern license, a non-refundable application fee of $300 plus a $1,500 initial

licensing fee is required. All license renewals are due by January 31* every year and the
renewal fee is $1,250.

Be prepared to renew licenses beginning January 1° through January 31 annually.



https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r081/r081.htm

TAVERN I.ICENSES are limited to a quota, formulated by the population of the state. Taverns are

defined as:

it helps slow

Taverns have no food
requirement, but food
is a good idea because

intoxication, generates

e  beerbars

e  parlors

e lounges

e cabarets

e nightclubs

additional revenue, and
gives patrons something else to do besides drink.
Remember it isillegal to allow someone to become

intoxicated.

OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

DISPLAY SIGNS - A tavern licensee must display:
1. Awarningsign

The warning sign contains two messages, each of which must be
in a different font. It may be used as-is or custom-made, but the
size of the sign and the size of the fonts may not be any smaller
than the template. The color of the print does not have to be red,
and the sign does not have to be white, but it must be easily
readable and posted in a prominent place (obviously, not behind
the pickle jar or in the office) on the licensed premises. GO HERE
to download a warning sign template from the DABS website.

2. The DABS and city licenses in a prominent place.

WARNING
DRINKING ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES
DURING PREGNANCY CAN CAUSE
BIRTH DEFECTS AND PERMANENT
BRAIN DAMAGE FOR THE CHILD

CALL THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AT
1-800-822-2229 WITH QUESTIONS OR MORE INFORMATION

WARNING
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF
ALCOHOL OR DRUGS IS A SERIOUS
CRIME THAT IS PROSECUTED
AGGRESSIVELY IN UTAH

State Of Utah

-  SOMEWHERE RECCENTER
Moir SOMEWEREREC LT

e ~ NON ]
TRANSFERABLE

D e LOCAL CITY LICENSE

SOMEWHERE REC LLC
1234 SOMEWHERE STREET
SOMEWHERE CITY, UT 84000
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SALES AND CONSUMPTION HOURS

Beer may be sold on any day from 10:00 a.m. until 1:00 a.m.
Consumption of beer is prohibited between the hours of 2 a.m.
and 10 a.m. Taverns must remain open an extra hour after alcohol
sales and service have ended to allow a patron to finish
consuming;:

e asingle serving of beer not exceeding 26 ounces

Taverns do not have to remain open after all patrons have vacated
the premises, or during an emergency.

PURCHASING BEER

Beer must be purchased from beer distributors.
Licensees must call and set up an account with the
appropriate distributor for the licensee’s area.

Beer may also be purchased from any licensed Utah
small brewer that manufactures beer.

Licensees may not purchase beer from any other
retail outlet (i.e., grocery or convenience stores,
etc.) for resale at the licensed establishment.

Alicensee may go to the DABS website for a list of
distributors in the licensee’s area.

BEER STORAGE

Beer may only be stored in a designated place approved
by DABS on the initial application floor plan. Any changes
in the storage area(s) must first be approved by DABS.




BEER SALES AND SERVICE

e Beer may be sold to an individual patron only in a container that does
not exceed one liter.

e Beerflights may be sold to a patron as long as the total amount of beer
does not exceed 16 ounces.

e Beermay be sold and served in pitchers, not exceeding 2 liters to
parties of two or more.

e Beersoldin sealed containers may be removed from the tavern
premises.

PRICE LISTS

A bar must have readily available for its patrons, a printed alcoholic
beverage price list, or a menu containing current prices of all alcoholic
beverages.

ADVERTISING

: Signs advertising the availability of alcoholic
beverages may be displayed.

ELECTRONIC AGE VERIFICATION - ID SCANNERS

The ID scanner requirement applies to all taverns whether or not they choose to restrict access by way of
membership.

Taverns must electronically verify age before anyone who appears to be 35 years
of age or younger may gain admittance.

Taverns must be able to read, print, or download the data in the ID scanners.
Owners/managers should have the knowledge and capability to produce the data
upon request of a peace officer or an authorized representative of the DABS.

The DABS does not provide a list of approved scanners. ID scanners (electronic

age verification devices) are available from multiple manufacturers and vendors. An ID scanner selected
must meet the requirements of rule R82-4-101 which may be viewed on our website, or a summary of
requirements can be found under “Forms and Resources” on the Licenses & Permits menu.




NO MINOR EMPLOYEES ARE ALLOWED

e Minors may not be employed on the premises of a tavern. This includes band members,
construction workers, etc.
e Minors may not be admitted into, use, or be on the premises of a tavern EVER - even if closed.

EMPLOYEES

Any employee handling alcoholic beverages must be 21 years of age or older.

e Servers of beer must wear a unique identification badge showing the
employee's first name, initials, or a number assigned by the employer
and must be worn above the waist.

e Employees may not consume or be under the influence of alcoholic
beverages while on duty.

EMPLOYEES CAN BE FINED FOR VIOLATIONS.

The Alcoholic Beverage Services Commission is authorized to assess an
administrative fine against an officer, employee, or agent of a licensee for a
violation of the alcoholic beverage laws.

TRAINING

SERVER TRAINING:

The Department of Health and Human Services
server trainingis required

forall owners, managers, supervisors, and
employees who serve (or manage those who
serve) alcohol. They must take and pass an alcohol
server training seminar every three years and must
complete thetraining

prior to commencing employment. GO HERE to
find links for state-approved training programs.

DABS MANAGER TRAINING:

As a condition of an applicant obtaining a DABS license, all applicant managers must complete the
DABS manager training. Any new manager must take the training within 30 days of hire.

e A managerincludes owners and employees that act in a supervisory or managerial capacity over
the furnishing of an alcoholic product or the employees who serve alcoholic products.

e Trainingis completed online. GO HERE to find links to the training on the DABS website.

e The manager training fee is $25 per manager.



https://abs.utah.gov/licenses-permits/training/

RECORDKEEPING

Tavern licensees are required to keep current, detailed quarterly records for
expenses and sales of alcohol and food. All records must be kept for a minimum

of three years.

BROWN BAGGING

Patrons may not bring in or store any alcohol on the premises of a tavern.

TEMPORARY CLOSURE OF MORE THAN 10 DAYS

You MUST notify your compliance specialist in writing if you are going to be closed for more than 10 days.
Emergency closures may be granted by telephone. NOT DOING SO is an automatic forfeiture of the retail
license. Failure to RE-OPEN by the approval date also results in automatic forfeiture.

DISCOUNTING PRACTICES PROHIBITED

Beer may not be sold at a discount at any time.

Other discounting practices are prohibited that encourage over-
consumption of beer (i.e. happy hours, two for ones, all you can
drink for a set price, free beer, or selling at less than cost).

A tavern licensee or employee may not purchase an alcoholic
beverage for a patron.

Please be careful off-duty owners or employees who have been drinking
must not step back in and perform any on-duty type functions.




BAD CHECKS

DABS may immediately suspend the license if it receives a bad check as
payment for liquor, licensing or bond fees, fines and costs for violations, etc.
A fee will also be assessed for bad checks and the licensee will be required to

pay

the full amount and the fee.

PROHIBITED CONDUCT

LEWD ACTS: Attire and sexually-oriented conduct of employees and entertainers that are
considered contrary to public welfare and morals are prohibited on the premises.

GAMBLING: NO paying to play a game
of chance to win money or a prize.
Licensees may not engage in or
permit any form of gambling on its
premises including contests or
gaming schemes that require risking
something of value for a chance of a
return - including raffles, bingo,
poker, etc.

ILLEGAL DRUGS or drug paraphernalia:
Aretail licensee may not knowingly allow a person on the licensed premises to sell,
distribute, possess, or use a controlled substance or use, deliver, or possess with the intent to
deliver drug paraphernalia.
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