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T0 ALL LICENSEES

As a licensee of the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services, you are required to be aware of
the responsibilities, procedures, and potential liabilities regarding the sale and service of alcoholic
beverages.

This handbook has been prepared to help you with the lawful handling of alcoholic beverages. Please
review this information and keep the handbook available for reference. This handbook is current as
of June 2022. Previously issued handbooks may contain outdated and inaccurate information and
should be discarded.

Our website (abs.utah.gov) has information about the alcohol laws and rules with direct links to the
complete code and administrative rules, as well as information about stores and agencies, products
and prices, server training, and other interesting links. The website is regularly updated. Please
review the website for information and services as they are developed.

It is our responsibility and desire to be of service and assistance. If you have questions after
consulting the handbook, please call 977-6800, write or e-mail (dabscompliance@utah.gov) the
compliance division of this department.
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LIMITED-SERVICE RESTAURANT LICENSE

Allows the storage, sale, service, and consumption of wine, flavored malt beverages,
heavy beer, and beer on the premises of the restaurant.

Restaurant licenses run from November 15t to October 315t License fees are not prorated, so full fees
will be due even if a new license was issued at any time during the previous year. To apply for a limited-
restaurant license, a nonrefundable application fee of $330 plus a $1,275 initial licensing fee is required.
All license renewals are due by September 30 every year and the renewal fee is $750.

Be prepared to renew licenses beginning September 15 through September 30°" annually.




OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS: WARNING

DRINKING ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES
DURING PREGNANCY CAN CAUSE
BIRTH DEFECTS AND PERMANENT

BRAIN DAMAGE FOR THE CHILD

CALL THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AT

DISPLAY SIGNS - A limited restaurant licensee must display: 1800-822:2229 WITH QUESTIONS OR MORE INFORMATION
WARNING
. . DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF
e The Warning Sign — The template may be downloaded from our ALCOHOL OR DRUGS IS A SERIOUS
. CRIME THAT IS PROSECUTED
website at abs.utah.gov. AGGRESSIVELY IN UTAH

The warning sign contains two messages, each of which must be in a different font. It may be used as is, or custom-
made, but the size of the sign and the size of the fonts may not be any smaller than the template. The color of the
print does not have to be red, and the sign does not have to be white, but it has to be easily readable and posted in a
prominent place (obviously, not behind the pickle jar or in the office) in the licensed premises.

State Of Utah
Dot sauon o o %2 SOMEWHERE CITY, UTAH
el BEER LICENSE

S0 30,2022

SOMEWHERE REC LLC
TRANSFERABLE

1234 SOMEWHERE STREET
auiowno orLauor SOMEWHERE. UT 84000

PURSUANT TO UTAH CODE 32B.6.201.

B = &

o Post the DABS license and the city licenses ina

prominent place as well.

SALES AND CONSUMPTION HOURS

Wine, flavored malt beverages, and heavy beer may be sold on weekdays from
11:30 a.m. until 11:59 p.m. On a weekend, a state or federal holiday, or for a
private event, alcohol may be served beginning at 10:30 a.m. Beer may be sold
during the same hours as other alcoholic beverages, but unlike other types of
alcohol, beer may be served until 12:569 a.m.

NOTE: Wine, flavored malt beverages, and heavy beer must remain locked

at times when alcohol sales are not permitted. However, the licensee may open the storage area during hours
otherwise prohibited for the limited purpose of inventory, restocking, repair, and cleaning.



https://abs.utah.gov/licenses-permits/forms-resources/

TEMPORARY CLOSURE OF MORE THAN 10 DAYS

You MUST notify your Compliance Specialist in writing if you are going to be closed for more
than 10 days. Emergency closures may be granted by telephone. NOT DOING SO is an
automatic forfeiture of the retail license. Failure to RE-OPEN by the approval date also
results in automatic forfeiture.

RECORDKEEPING

Restaurants are required to keep current, detailed quarterly records for expenses and sales of alcohol and food and are
required to maintain at least 70% of their total business from the sale of food, which does not include a service

= 2;3] ~ 34 12125 Expensive wines in excess of $175 per bottle or $30 a glass are not

= ca9530000 a0 9280 included in calculating the food to alcohol ratio.

T8 35@1?41_,00;1_ 30 5496

B 107683090 3 13192 | jcensees who drop lower than 70% of food sales for any quarterly period
' — "'aga_,i may be put on probationary status. During the next quarterly period, food
= sales will be closely monitored by their Compliance Specialist. Failure of
the licensee to provide satisfactory proof of the required food percentage

may have their license revoked by the DABS Commission.

Licensees who are substantially lower than 70%, or who have repeatedly
been on a probationary status in the past, however, may be required to
immediately come before the Commission and show why they should keep
their license. Licensees shall maintain records for at least three years.
Remember, falsifying records is illegal.

CAREFUL! Restaurant licensees whose food sales drop lower than 70% may have their license REVOKED, ‘

ALCOHOL STORAGE

Alcohol may only be stored in a designated place approved by DABS on the initial
application floorplan.

e Anychanges in a storage area must first be approved by DABS.

e Storage or dispensing systems located at a patron's table are prohibited.

e Alcohol stored and used for cooking must be labeled “COOKING FLAVORING"
and is considered a food preparation.

REMEMBER: Wine, flavored malt beverages, and heavy beer must be stored and locked
up at all times when alcohol sales are not permitted.




PURCHASE OF ALCOHOL

Wine, flavored malt beverages, and heavy beer must be purchased at
the Utah state liquor stores or package agencies. Purchasing — EEEEE .
alcohol from outside of the state of Utah is unlawful. =" STATE LIOUOR & WINE STORE

PROCEDURES FOR ORDERING ALCOHOL ARE AS FOLLOWS:

The licensee must call, fax, or order online in advance to allow
department personnel sufficient time to assemble the order. Include
your business name, DABS license number, and list the products by
code. You can find the code numbers on our website at abs.utah.gov

NOTE: The licensees may not pick merchandise directly off the shelves of a A licensee may sign up

state store or package agency to fill their order. for “ACH” ordering
ONLINE!

ALLOW AT LEAST 4 HOURS for department personnel to assemble the Contact DABS to get

order for pick-up. | signed up. -|

When the order is complete, the licensee will be notified by phone and given the total cost of
the order. The licensee may pay for the product in cash, credit or debit card, company check, or
cashier's check. You will have to examine and sign for the order before it leaves the store to
verify that the product has been received.

WINE AND HEAVY BEER MAY NOT BE RETURNED . . . unless it can be shown that the product was spoiled or non-
consumable.

BEER PURCHASES

Beer must be purchased from beer distributors. Licensees must
call and set up an account with the appropriate distributor for
their area. Find a list of distributors in your area on our website.

Beer may also be purchased from any licensed Utah small
brewer that manufactures beer.

Licensees may not purchase beer from any other retail outlet
such as grocery or convenience stores for resale at the licensed
establishment.



https://abs.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/Beer-Distributors-Wine-List.pdf

MULTIPLE LICENSES ON THE SAME PREMISES

A restaurant licensee CAN share space in the same room with another licensed premises if they are a:

o Hospitality amenity

e Beerrecreational Th|s premises is
e Banquet .
These licenses may not operate in the same room, at the same Currently Operatmg

time, on the same day. However, they may share a kitchen, as a Restaurant
including a pathway necessary to transport alcohol with other

sublicenses or license types if they are owned by the same
person or entity.

This premises is

All requirements for each license type must be satisfied. It also requires that a Curl‘ently Operat.lng
sign be posted in a conspicuous location at the entrance stating what type of as a Beer Recreational
license is currently operating in that space. The sign must measure at least 8
% by 11 inches.

SHARED DINING

Restaurant licensees may share a dining area under
certain conditions. However, the licensees still must
meet the operational requirements for each license type.
This means:

o The dining area must be on an approved floor plan.

e |imited restaurants may only share a dining
space with a limited restaurant.

e The premises of each restaurant must “stand
alone" and be completely independent of each
other. They may not share bathrooms, kitchens, or any other space. This law expressly states that ONLY the
dining area may be shared.

e Each restaurant must be able to keep independent records, check identification, and be able to watch and
control the patron's consumption independently from the other restaurants.

Caution: You must be able to control the dining area to prevent any violations!




NO BROWN-BAGGING — WINE EXCEPTION

Patrons may not bring in or store spirituous liquor, heavy beer, or beer on the premises of the restaurant. However,
at the licensee's discretion, a patron may bring in bottled wine for consumption on the premises.

e Wine brought in must be immediately delivered to a server or an employee of
the restaurant.

e A wine service may then be performed, and patrons may serve themselves or
others at the table.

e A patron may leave with their unfinished bottle of wine as long as it has been
recorked by the server.

e Wine purchased by a patron from the restaurant may also be stored in
approved wine lockers provided by the restaurant. Only servers may access
the wine locker for the patron.

NOTE: An open container primarily used for drinking purposes and containing an alcoholic beverage, may not be
removed from the restaurant premises.

FOODSERVICE REQUIREMENTS

Patrons may only purchase alcoholic beverages after
they have been seated at a table, counter, or bar in the
dining or dispensing area of the restaurant where food
is served. The server must also verbally verify the
patron has the intent to dine.

However, if a patron is temporarily seated at a counter
or in the bar and is waiting to be seated in the dining
area:

e The patron may only be served one (1) single
serving of an alcoholic beverage.

o | the patron has not finished their alcoholic
beverage when a table becomes available, a
server must carry the alcoholic beverage for
the patron to their awaiting table in the dining area.

o The licensee must confirm that the patron intends to purchase and consume food at the same location where
the patron is to be permanently seated.

o The server must make a beverage tab for each table or group that orders or consumes an alcoholic beverage
on the premises.

e Alcoholic beverages must be sold, served, and delivered to a patron by a properly trained alcohol server.

Patrons must be seated at a table, counter, or bar to
consume alcohol, and servers must confirm that the
patron intends to dine at the restaurant.

NOTE: There is no alcohol service allowed in the waiting area.




ALCOHOL DISPENSING AREAS AND THE
FLOORPLAN

Visible storage and dispensing in the bar area is allowed
in restaurants under certain conditions and restrictions.
Licensees may choose to have a visible bar area or
choose to have storage and dispensing areas that are not
visible.

The dispensing area of a restaurant is where alcoholic
beverages are prepared. If the dispensing is visible, it
includes both the bar structure and the seating area around the bar for those who are 21 years and older. There are
three types of possible alcohol dispensing areas in a restaurant or a combination of any of the following:

e Back Room - Out of Sight
e Barwith 10" Buffer Zone
e Bar with b’ Buffer Zone and a Pony Wall

The floorplan for a visible dispensing area or the bar area must
be either:
- |H|.

a. Anarea within 10 feet of the outside edge of the bar
structure.

b. An area within b feet from the outside edge of the bar
structure if a permanent physical barrier has been
installed, such as a pony wall or rail. The barrier must
measure at least 42 inches tall

Licensees who do not currently have a visible bar may request one,
but any changes must first be approved by DABS.




ID SCANNERS ARE REQUIRED FOR THE BAR AREA

An ID scanner (electronic age verification device) is required if there is seating available
in the bar. Servers must electronically verify age with the scanner when anyone who
appears to be 35 years of age or younger orders an alcoholic beverage.

The main dining area outside the bar does not require the use of a scanner. Those
restaurants that choose to only have backroom dispensing are not required to have an ID
scanner.

Restaurant licensees must be able to keep, read, print, or download More information on scanners may be viewed
7 days' worth of data in the ID scanners and no more. Employees
should have the knowledge and capability to produce the data upon
request of a peace officer or an authorized representative of the
DABS.

on our website or can be found in the TOPICS
LIBRARY under Licensee Support.

The DABS does not provide a list of approved scanners, but they are available from multiple manufacturers and vendors.
However, any ID scanner selected must meet legal requirements.

MINOR PATRONS

Minors may not sit, remain, or be served food or beverages within the NO M I NURS MAY BE

dispensing area of a restaurant. SEATED |N THE

Remember, the DISPENSING AREA is any area within 10 feet of a bar DISPENSING AREA
structure, or b feet if the bar is separated by a rail or pony wall at least OF A RESTAURANT
42" tall.

Minaors may momentarily pass through a dispensing
area en route to an area of the establishment in which
the minor is permitted to be (i.e. restrooms) only if
there is no other way.

Grandfathered bars (those who had a bar structure as
of May 11, 2009) have an exception until July 1, 2022.
A minor may not sit, remain, or consume food or
beverages within 10 feet of a grandfathered bar
structure, unless

a. seating within 10 feet of the grandfathered bar structure is the only seating available in the licensed
premises, but never at the bar structure, and
b. the minor is accompanied by an individual who is 21 years of age or older.




EMPLOYEES

o Any employee who sells, serves, dispenses, or handles alcohol
must be twenty-one years of age or older.

e Servers of alcohol must wear a unique identification badge
showing the employee's first name, initials, or a number assigned
by the employer and must be worn above the waist.

e Employees may not consume or be under the influence of alcoholic
beverages while on duty.

NOTE: EMPLOYEES CAN BE FINED FOR VIOLATIONS

The commission is authorized to assess an administrative fine against an
officer, employee, or agent of a licensee for a violation of the alcoholic
beverage laws.

PLEASE BE CAREFUL - off-duty owners or employees who have been drinking must
not step back in and perform any on-duty type functions.

MINOR EMPLOYEES

o Minors may be employed by a restaurant, but may not take the order for, dispense, or serve alcoholic
beverages, or handle the alcoholic beverages except where expressly allowed.

e Minor employees may be in the dispensing area
when the restaurant is closed if they are performing
maintenance and cleaning services, but may not
handle the alcohol.

e Minors who are at least 16 years of age may ring up
the sale of alcoholic beverages at a cash register or
other point of sale system. However, remember,
they cannot take the order, handle, or serve it.

o Alcohol-trained servers over 21 years of age must
take the alcohal order.

e Minors who are at least 16 years old may bus
alcohol and alcohol containers from the tables,
including tables from the adult dispensing area during working hours. Younger minors are prohibited from
doing so.




TRAINING

SERVER TRAINING

Alcohol server training is required for all owners, managers, supervisors, and
employees who serve (or manage those who serve) alcohol. They must take
and pass an alcohol server training seminar every three years and must
complete the training within 30 days of hire. Go to our website for information
and links to state-approved training programs.

DABS MANAGER TRAINING

Managers must complete the DABS Manager Training Program as a condition of obtaining their DABS license. Any new
manager must take the training within 30 days of hire.

MANAGERS MUST TAKE e A manager includes owners and employees that act in a supervisory or
managerial capacity over the furnishing of an alcoholic product or the
BUTH employees who serve alcoholic products.

ALCOHOL SERVER TRAINING e Training will be conducted by the DABS and the fee is $25 per manager.

e Manager training does not expire and will not have to be taken again.
& MANAGER TRAINING e REMEMBER, managers must have BOTH the manager training and the
server training

ADVERTISING

e Signs advertising the availability of alcoholic beverages may be
displayed both inside and outside the restaurant.

e Servers may ask a patron if they would like an alcoholic beverage.

e Restaurant advertising in newspapers, magazines, phone book
yellow pages, other print media, and on radio, television, and
billboards may reference the availability of alcoholic beverages.

o Alcohol advertising by the restaurant must comply with the legal
requirements which may be viewed on our website at abs.utah.gov.

PRICE LISTS

An alcoholic beverage menu with prices is required. The menu may be listed on the food menu or
a separate alcoholic beverage menu and may be located on the patron's table or readily
available.

Zanm.

10




SALE AND SERVICE OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

WINE SALES

Wine may be sold and served by the bottle or
container in sizes not
exceeding 1.5 liters to
tables of four or more.

For tables of less than
four, the size cannot be
larger than 750 ml.

Wine may be sold and
served by the glass or
individual portion in
quantities not exceeding
5 ounces.

An individual portion may be served to a patron in
more than one glass (as a flight) as long as the
total amount of
wine in all of the
glasses does not
exceed the
individual portion
size of b ounces.

Wine may be poured by the glass from any size
bottle or container and need not be dispensed
through a dispensing device.

A patron who has purchased bottled wine may
serve themselves or others at the table.

Unfinished wine may be removed from a
restaurant by a patron if the bottle is re-corked or
re-capped.

FLAVORED MALT BEVERAGES & HEAVY BEER

May be sold and served in original containers
not exceeding one liter.

BEER

Beer may be sold and
served in any size
container not
exceeding 2 liters and
on draft. However, a
pitcher, larger than
one liter and up to
two liters, may only
be sold to parties of
two or more.

Beer may be sold to
an individual patron only in a container that
does not exceed one liter.

Beer may be sold in a flight, not to exceed 16
ounces.

LIMITATION ON TOTAL NUMBER OF DRINKS

Each restaurant
patron may have
no more than
two servings of
an alcoholic
beverage of any
kind at a time
before the
patron.

NO MORE THAN TWO
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DISCOUNTING PRACTICES PROHIBITED

Alcoholic beverages may not be sold at a discount at any time. Other
discounting practices are prohibited that encourage over-
consumption of alcohol such as happy hours, two for one, all you can
drink for a set price, free alcohol, or selling at less than cost.

A restaurant licensee or employee may not purchase an alcoholic
beverage for a patron nor “comp” alcoholic beverages for patrons for
any reason.

BAD CHECKS

The DABS may immediately suspend the license if it receives a bad check as payment
for alcohol, licensing or bond fees, fines and costs for violations, etc. A fee will be
assessed for a bad check.

PROHIBITED CONDUCT

o LEWD ACTS, attire, and sexually-oriented conduct of employees and entertainers that are considered
contrary to public welfare and morals are
prohibited on the premises.

o GAMBLING — NO paying to play a game of
chance to win money or a prize. Licensees
may not engage in or permit any form of
gambling on its premises including contests
or gaming schemes that require risking
something of value for a chance of a return -
including raffles, bingo, poker, etc.

® ILLEGAL DRUGS or drug paraphernalia - A retail
licensee may not knowingly allow a person on the licensed premises to sell, distribute, possess, or
use a controlled substance or use, deliver, or possess with the intent to deliver drug paraphernalia.

ANY CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP

N

Any change of ownership must be reported immediately to the licensee's DABS Compliance
Specialist. It would be better to call ahead and discuss any ownership changes before
doing so as some small changes can be done internally and others must go through a
license transfer process and be approved by the commission.
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