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TO ALL PACKAGE AGENTS

As a package agent of the Utah Department of Alcohalic Beverages Services, you are required to
be aware of the responsibilities, procedures, and potential liabilities regarding the sale and
service of alcoholic beverages.

This reference guide has been prepared to help you with the lawful handling of alcoholic
beverages. Please review this information and keep the handbook available for reference. This
version of the handbook is current as of June 2022. Previously issued handbooks should be
discarded as they may contain outdated information.

Our website (abs.utah.gov) has information about the liquor laws and rules with direct links to
the complete code and administrative rules, as well as information about stores and agencies,
products and prices, server training, and other interesting links. The website is regularly
updated. Please review the website for information and services as they are developed.

It is our responsibility, and we desire to be of service and assistance. If you have questions after
consulting the handbook, please call 977-6800, write, or e-mail (dabscompliance@utah.gov) to
the compliance division of the DABS.



http://abs.utah.gov

TYPE 5 PACKAGE AGENCY

RULES AND PROCEDURES

A type b package agency contract allows a distillery, winery or brewery the ability, at its manufacturing
location, to sell to the general public for off-premise consumption, the packaged liquor products that it
produces.




WHAT IS A TYPE 5 PACKAGE AGENCY?

Type b package agencies are liquor outlets operated by private
individuals under a contract with the Utah Department of Alcohalic
Beverages Services for the purpose of selling packaged liquor, wine or
heavy beer to licensees or the general public “to go" for consumption
off the premises.

The package agency must be located within an approved manufacturing premises of a distillery, winery, or
brewery. The manufacturer may sell only its own alcoholic beverage products. The bottles for sale may be
moved directly from the storage area to the package agency location,
provided that proper record keeping is maintained on forms approved by
the department.

The agency operator is responsible for providing a building or sales space,
paying all utilities and rent, supplying all fixtures, and paying any and all
expenses incidental to the operation of the agency. A minor may not be
employed in or permitted to operate a package agency.

The number of package agencies that may exist at any time is tied to the total population figure for the state.
The number of agencies may not exceed the population of the state divided by 18,000.

PROXIMITY REQUIREMENTS

A package agency may not be located too close to any of the following community locations: a public or private
school, church, public library, or public park or playground. You must meet two types of measurements:

e 600 feet ordinary pedestrian travel — measurements are taken from the nearest patron entrance of the
package agency using the shortest route of ordinary legal pedestrian travel to the nearest property
boundary of the community location

e 200 feet straight line (as the crow flies) - measurements are taken from the nearest patron entrance
of the package agency to the nearest property boundary of the community location

DISPLAY SIGNS

Every package agency must display in a prominent place the following signs:

o The WARNING sign — the template may be downloaded from
our website at dabs.utah.gov

. . . . DRINKING AL‘:JV(I;S:;::‘IIS BEVERAGES
e Asign listing the days and hours of operation - posted near the DURMG PREGNANCY CAN CAUSE
BRAIN DAMAGE FOR THE CHILD

entrance of the store

WARNING
. e DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF
o The DABS package agency certificate ALCOHOL OR DRUGS IS A SERIOUS
CRIME THAT IS PROSECUTED
AGGRESSIVELY IN UTAH




DAYS AND HOURS OF OPERATION

The standard hours of operation of a package agency are from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00
Midnight, Monday through Saturday. However, a type b package agency, at the
discretion of the package agent, may be open as early as 8:00 a.m. for sales to
alcohol licensees, with the approval of the DABS. A type b package agency may also
choose operational hours that are less than the standard hours noted above, at the
discretion of the package agent and with the approval of the DABS.

Also, the type b package agency may be open on Sundays and state and federal
holidays if the licensed manufacturing facility holds a bar, full-service, limited-service, or a beer-only restaurant
license.

For Sunday and state and federal holidays, the package agency shall only be open during the hours the bar
and/or restaurants are open. Any change in the hours of operation must have prior approval and must be
submitted in writing.

If a legal holiday falls on a Sunday, the following Monday will be observed as the holiday. The legal holidays are:

e New Year's Day - January 1
e  Martin Luther King's Day - third Monday in January

e President's Day - third Monday in February ‘;" i : 

e  Memorial Day - last Monday in May | By

e Juneteenth National Freedom Day - June 19 "

¢ Independence Day - July 4

e  Pioneer Day - July 24 2 S “.
113 i

e  Labor Day - first Monday in September

e Veteran's Day - November 11
e Thanksgiving Day - fourth Thursday in November
e  Christmas Day - December 25

TEMPORARY CLOSURE OF MORE THAN 3 DAYS

You MUST notify DABS in writing, in advance of any closure, if you are going to be closed for more than 72
hours. The request must include:

o Dates of closure or cessation of operation
o Reason for the closure or cessation of operation
o Date on which the package agency will reopen or resume operation

In the case of an emergency closure, a package agency shall immediately notify the DABS by
telephaone or email. The DABS may authorize a closure for a period not to exceed 60 days.
However, the DABS may extend the initial period an additional 30 days upon written request and
upon a showing of good cause. A closure of operation may not exceed a total of 90 days without
commission approval. Failure to provide notice and obtain DABS authorization before closure, or failure to
resume operation by the approved date results in an automatic termination of the package agency agreement,
effective immediately.




SALES OF PRODUCTS TO LICENSEES

When sales are made from the package agency to a DABS licensed bar or LOADING
restaurant, an LQ5 form must be completed and retained by the package agent. ONLY
LQ5 forms must be ordered from the DABS. Direct deliveries from the package || ® 1% 520k
agency to retail licensees are not permitted. All alcoholic products must be BEUE'E,;EEJH
i I purchased and picked up by the licensees or their authorized agents at the SAT

TR manufacturer's package agency site. —

ADVERTISING, PROMOTIONS, AND PRICE-LISTS

A type b package agency may advertise the location of their distillery, winery, or brewery, and may advertise the
alcoholic beverage products they produce and sell at their package agency.

However, advertisements MAY NOT:

o Violate federal law

o Be false or misleading

e Beobscene orindecent

e Portray or imply illegal conduct or anti-social behavior

e Encourage over-consumption

o (Qvertly promote increased consumption or the high content
of their alcohol

e Encourage or condone drunk driving

o [Depict the act of drinking

e Promote or encourage the sale to minors, or use of alcohol
by minors

e Be placed in media that is primarily targeting minors or
appeals primarily to minors

e Portray drinking while engaged in activities requiring a high degree of alertness or physical coordination

e Represent that individuals can achieve success or solve problems by drinking

e Require the purchase, sale, or consumption of an alcoholic beverage to participate in any promotion,
program, or other activity

More detailed information may be found on prohibited advertising on our website at
abs.utah.gov in the topics library.

A package agency may provide or post a price list inside the store for each item it
has for sale. A printed list for the public may also be provided and price lists may
be on the premises of the distillery, winery, brewery, or in the authorized tasting
room.

A package agency may place signs in a window or on the front of the building that indicate the
package agency site, and may provide a listing of the address and phone numbers in printed or electronic
directories available to the public.




PRICING

A type 5 package agency owns their entire inventory made at their manufacturing facility and offered for sale
at their package agency. The DABS does not provide any alcoholic products to the package agency. However,
the manufacturer may sell their alcoholic products to the DABS to be sold at state stores, retail licensees, or
to the general public.

PRICE CALCULATOR

All price quotes are subject to change without notice

The process for setting the price of alcoholic
beverages is based on the cost the manufacturer
needs to make plus a certain percentage markup R e/ e et ot
that goes to the school lunch program, L L o [fvwmn @
administrative fees, and alcohol-related public
safety programs.

Product Information

Shipping

® Prepaid
O Add Freight

All items must be sold at a price approved by the

DABS. Pricing can also be changed, but still must ketail Tyee Normal Uit Retsil Type
go through the 22“ el ey
| e
puchasing
division will assist © Small Brewery PrepaidUtahTax
manufacturers

with this process.
Additionally, the DABS website contains a price calculator to
assist in calculating costs and prices.

NOTE: There is no discounting of alcohol nor advertising the discount of alcohol.

PACKAGE AGENCY FEES

The package agency billing cycle is based upon the State of Utah FINET (the Utah centralized
accounting system) fiscal calendar.

The payment for a fiscal month's sales will be due 30 calendar days after the fiscal
- month ends. Fiscal month-end dates can be found on the DABS fiscal calendars page.

Any account for which payment has not been received within the period noted above will
be considered past due, and interest and penalties shall be applied to their
outstanding balance.



https://abs.utah.gov/vendors/price-calculator/
https://abc.utah.gov/calendar/
https://abs.utah.gov/vendors/price-calculator/
https://abs.utah.gov/about-dabs/fiscal-calendar/
https://abs.utah.gov/vendors/price-calculator/

ACCOUNTING AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

Records must be kept current and available to the department for auditing purposes at all times. Additionally,
records must be maintained for a minimum of three years.

The reporting cycle shall reflect the State of Utah FINET fiscal calendar, which runs from July 1st to June
30th. The DABS will provide a fiscal calendar for the current year to the

type 5 package agencies. ”‘ Type 5 Monthly Sales Form - FY 2021

* EY ENTRY DATE:

PRICE EFFECTIVE DATE: Period 1| 07/01/2020-08/01/2020

Monthly Sales Report

Once a month, the manufacturer's package agency shall submit
to the Department a completed monthly sales report which
specifies the variety and number of cans or bottles sold to the
general public and retail licensees. The form must be signed,
dated, and sent to the office within five business days
following the end of the fiscal month (see the fiscal calendar
on the DABS website), and must include the following:

Product description, code number, and unit pricing
Total sales from the retail facility
Date 0

[[] By checking the box tothe eftyou are sgresing that the ceta enterec above s aucurate to the bast of
your knowledge.

Pric:
0
[}]
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

Verified signature

Neme: Title: Date: Phone:

This form will be used by the department to calculate the taxes

and fees due from the package agency. The accounting office will then send an invoice for the amount due. The
invoice must be paid within 30 days of the invoice date in order to avoid interest and /or penalties. The
distillery, winery, or brewery must use a standardized form provided by the Department.

I NOTE: Even if there are no sales, the report must be submitted each month. I

BAD CHECKS

The DABS may immediately suspend the package agency license if the DABS
receives a bad check from the package agency. Also, the DABS will assess a fee,
and the package agent will be required to pay the full amount owed, including the
fee. If payment is not received within 30 days after the suspension of the package
agency, the package agency contract may be terminated, and the bond may be
forfeited.




SALES RESTRICTIONS

Package agency employees are responsible for screening customers for anyone who
may be restricted from purchasing alcohol because they are:

o Underage
o Actually, Apparently, or Obviously Intoxicated
A violation of these sections is a class B misdemeanor if the salesperson negligently

sells alcohol to a restricted person, or a class A misdemeanor if the salesperson
knowingly sells instead of just negligently. When in doubt refuse the sale.

Refusing Sales to Persons Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs

amoriy
BREARFAS

' - Thelaw states that "A person may not sell, offer to sell, or otherwise furnish or

g supply any alcoholic beverage or product to any person who is apparently under the
. influence of intoxicating alcoholic beverages, products, or drugs." Selling to an
intoxicated person could have severe consequences.

An intoxicated person may display one or more of the following signs:

e  Slow or poor judgment

e  (Confusion

e lack of coordination or balance

e  Bloodshot or droopy eyes or facial expressions

e  Strong odor of alcohol from their person or on their breath
e  Slurred speech

e Loud, obnoxious, or abusive behavior

Other signs may also be apparent, but usually, a law enforcement officer would need to be called to verify other
evidence of impairment.

Refusing Sales to Minors

Under Utah law, a "minor" means any person under the age of twenty-one. The
department requires that package agency employees check the ID of every
customer of questionable age. All Utah minor driver's licenses and ID cards are
in the portrait (vertical) format and no math is necessary to determine their age.
RED FLAGS if you receive a minor ID. Check carefully.

Minor Identification




ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF ID

Only five forms of ID are acceptable, and all must include a date of birth and a photo.

e Avalid driver's license authorized from any state or U.S. territory

e Avalid identification card authorized from any state or U.S. territory
o Avalid military ID

e Avalid passport from any country

e Avalid US Department of State DL

B ID NOT VALID for Proof of Age:

RN S IDENTIE

B S

o  Driver Privilege Card issued in accordance

; B :ggg

8 g:§§§‘ H with Section 53-3-207 is NOT valid for proof of age, as
’ §§, 55“555:“55.’% specifically stated under 32b-1-102 (81)(b).

LR 17 1 o Concealed Carry Permit

e Furo Card or Driver License from outside of the United States
e Green Card, Consular Card, Non-US Passport Card, or any
identification card that does not fit the statute specifically.

NOTE: Only U.S. Citizens may use an official passport card. No passport
cards are allowed from other countries

Remember: The key word in the proof of age laws is the word “valid.”
No identification is acceptable that is expired, unlawfully gained or in any other way questionable.

DEPARTMENT AUDITS

DABS Compliance Specialists are required to audit all package agencies to ensure they are being operated in
compliance with state statutes, rules, and package agency contracts. The DABS will provide advanced
notice to the package agent of an upcoming audit and the notification will include an audit letter with a
checklist detailing the items to be reviewed.

e Adetailed list of products

e Current package agency inventory

e Floorplan

e Proper signage - warning sign, hours of operation, etc.

e Transfer information from manufacturing to the package agency (minimum of three months). For
breweries that have multiple locations, this will include any transfers between the package agencies.

e Reported sales to walk-in customers and licensees. This will include sales to on-premises tasting
rooms.

e Current public liability insurance ACORD certificate

o Package agency liquor bond




	NOTE  There is no discounting of alcohol nor advertising the discount of alcohol: 


