
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services 

Change of Ownership: Applicant Attestation

PURPOSE: Declaration of Compliance                     AUTHORITY: Utah Code 32B-18-201 

To:  Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services:   I,   attest that: 

(Name of the applicant) 

1. I have read and understood the applicable statutes of 32B and the transferability of a DABS alcohol license from one person to another during

a change of ownership of a business and that a DABS alcohol license:

• May not be ascribed any value in the sale or transfer of a business entity or the business entity's assets.

• May not be pledged as security for a loan or as security for the fulfillment of any agreement. 

• Is neither tangible nor intangible property to the holder of the license.

• Is completely separate from other property of an alcohol licensee.

• May not be sold, transferred, assigned, exchanged, bartered, given, or attempted in any way to dispose of the alcohol license to

another person whether for monetary gain or not except as outlined in the Change of Alcohol License Act.

2. A person or business entity shall comply with any change of ownership requirements, including submitting an application to the DABS within 

60 days after the day on which the sale of the business's assets closes. 

3. The commission may suspend or revoke an alcohol license if the alcohol licensee does not notify the department within 60 days after the day 

on which the change occurs. 

4. I understand that the current alcohol license held by the transferor may continue to be operated under this title under an "Interim

Management Agreement" (IMA) until the new business owner can obtain the final (non-conditional) alcohol license from the DABS

commission.

5. I understand that operations of the alcohol license must begin within 30 days after the day on which the commission approves a change of

ownership, except that the Department may grant (one) 30-day extension or until the day of the next commission meeting occurs. The 

commission may also grant one or more additional extensions after the 60 days if:

• The licensee can demonstrate they are improving the licensed premises (conditional licenses).

• Has obtained a building permit for the improvements if required by the local licensing jurisdiction. 

• Is working expeditiously to complete the improvements.

•  The commission determines that circumstances beyond the control of the alcohol licensee negate the licensee's ability to begin 

operations in a timely manner.

6. I understand that operations of the alcohol license must begin at the business location to which the applicant applied. 

7. I have read and understood the statements made herein, that execution hereof is done voluntarily, and that any false statement made on 

this application or any related document is a second-degree felony.

Signature 

Title / Position in Business Organization 

Aug 2023 

Date 
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